Type rating examiner revalidation

Part 1178/2011 FCL does not prescribe flight training for Cessna C525 Citation type rating examiner - TRE(A) certificate revalidation. Part FCL, however, requires that a flight school - ATO provides an examiner refresh seminar, also called examiner standardization training.

Type rating examiner - TRE(A) revalidation

To revalidate Cessna C525 Citation type rating examiner - TRE(A) certificate, it is necessary to meet Part FCL, statute FCL.1025. Pursuant to FCL.1025(a), the standard validity period of Cessna C525 Citation type rating examiner - TRE(A) certificate is 3 years.

Pursuant to FCL.1025(b), Cessna C525 Citation type rating examiner - TRE(A) certificate validity will be revalidated for another 3 years if a type rating examiner:

  • administered at least 2 practical exams - license skill tests, license proficiency checks, or assessments of competence in every year of the Cessna C525 Citation type rating examiner - TRE(A) certificate validity period.
    • WARNING: operator proficiency check - OPC does not count towards the minimum requirements.
  • undertook a standardization examiner refresh seminar for Cessna C525 Citation type rating examiners - TRE(A) provided by a national aviation authority or by the flight school.

To revalidate the Cessna C525 Citation type rating examiner - TRE(A) certificate , it is necessary that the type rating examiner took type rating examiner assessment of competence in the last year of the validity period.

This means that one exam, either a license skill test, license proficiency check, or an assessment of competence must be provided under the supervision of the inspector of national aviation authority or by the senior examiner.

Examiner assessment of competence

If a pilot holds examiner certificate with multiple privileges and multiple examiner roles, according to FCL.1025(b)(4), it is sufficient to undertake one examiner assessment of competence to have revalidated all examiner certificates and examiner privileges if the national aviation authority issuing the examiner certificate (state of license issue) gives approval.

An example would be multiple roles when an examiner holds the following examiner certificates:

  • Flight examiner FE(A) for LAPL(A), PPL(A), and CPL(A)
  • Class rating examiner CRE(A) for SEP(land) and MEP(land)
  • Instrument rating examiner IRE(A)
  • Type rating examiner - TRE(A) for Cessna C525 Citation
  • Type rating examiner - TRE(A) for Boeing B737

EXAMPLE: If a Cessna C525 Citation type rating examiner - TRE(A) successfully passes the examiner assessment of competence under the senior examiner's supervision in the role of Boeing B737 type rating examiner - TRE(A), the examiner will also have Cessna C525 Citation type rating examiner - TRE(A), class rating examiner CRE(A) for SEP(land) and MEP(land), instrument rating examiner IRE(A) and flight Examiner FE(A) for light aircraft pilot license - LAPL(A), commercial pilot license - CPL(A), and private pilot license - PPL(A). competencies revalidated.

ICAO English Exam can become a part of examiner assessment of competence. We offer this option with our partner company Aero Language.

The certificates issued by Aero Language are in accordance with both ICAO and EASA requirements. Most ICAO and EASA member states accept Aero Language's ICAO English certificates without restrictions.


OUR TIP: ICAO English Exam can be a part of practical flight exam or a part of examiner assessment of competence.