EASA Flight instructor examiner revalidation

Part 1178/2011 FCL does not prescribe any flight training for flight instructor examiner - FIE(A) certificate revalidation. Part FCL, however, requires that a flight school - ATO provides a examiner refresh seminar, also called examiner standardization.

Flight instructor examiner - FIE(A) revalidation

To revalidate flight instructor examiner - FIE(A) certificate, it is necessary to meet Part FCL, statute FCL.1025. Pursuant to FCL.1025(a), the standard validity period of flight instructor examiner - FIE(A) certificate is 3 years.

Pursuant to FCL.1025(b), flight instructor examiner - FIE(A) certificate validity will be revalidated for another 3 years if a flight examiner:

  • administered at least 2 practical exams - license skill testlicense proficiency check, or assessment of competence in every year of the flight instructor examiner - FIE(A) certificate validity period.
  • undertook a examiner standardization refresh course for flight instructor examiner - FIE(A) provided by a competent flight school.

To revalidate the flight instructor examiner - FIE(A) certificate, it is necessary that the flight instructor examiner took  examiner assessment of competence in the last year of the validity period of the examiner certificate.

This means that one exam, either a license skill test, license proficiency check, or an assessment of competence must be provided under the supervision of the inspector of national aviation authority or a senior examiner.

Examiner assessment of competence

If a pilot holds examiner certificate with multiple examiner roles - different examiner certificates, according to FCL.1025(b)(4), it is sufficient to undertake one examiner assessment of competence to have revalidated all examiner certificates if the aviation authority issuing the examiner certificate (state of license issue) gives approval.

An example would be multiple roles of examiner when an examiner holds the following examiner certificates:

  • Flight examiner FE(A) for LAPL(A), PPL(A), CPL(A)
  • Class rating examiner CRE(A) for SEP(land) and MEP(land)
  • Instrument rating examiner IRE(A)

In this case, if the flight examiner - FE(A) successfully passes the examiner assessment of competence under the senior examiner's supervision in the role of a class rating examiner CRE(A) providing a license proficiency check - LPC for single-engine piston aircraft - SEP(land) aircraft, the flight examiner will also have class rating examiner CRE(A) for MEP(land), instrument rating examiner IRE(A), and flight examiner FE(A) for light aircraft pilot license - LAPL(A), commercial pilot license - CPL(A), and private pilot license - PPL(A) examiner privileges revalidated.

ICAO English Exam can become a part of examiner assessment of competence. We offer this option with our partner company Aero Language.

The certificates issued by Aero Language are in accordance with both ICAO and EASA requirements. Most ICAO and all EASA member states accept Aero Language's ICAO English certificates without restrictions.


OUR TIP: ICAO English Exam can be a part of practical flight exam or a part of examiner assessment of competence.